The Lincoln Lawyer (2005) by Michael Connelly

Standard

Image

Happy New Year fellow hardcovers. Sorry it has taken so long to return but the hangovers were frequent and severe. Now that I have recovered I hope to have a flurry of new reviews to start of the one hundred books of 2014.

The first review of the year goes to the Lincoln Lawyer. This is a really good story that I didn’t actually know was a book before it was a movie. I started reading Michael Connelly last year with the Harry Bosch series and when I saw this title in his catalogue I jumped, remembering only vague specifics about the tale before I began.

The Lincoln Lawyer is, unsurprisingly, a legal story. One of the things that Michael Connelly does well is taking a genre novel and making it something more. The Harry Bosch series is a good example of this, and I am sure I will be reviewing one of those at some time in the year aswell. One of the things that sets the Lincoln Lawyer apart from other legal dramas is the constant inner tension felt by the protagonist. My first impression of the protagonist, Mick Haller, was that he was a smug bastard with his fingers in too many pies. Later that impression changed to appreciate just how many pies he has his fingers in. When the climax of the novel arrives I couldn’t believe how all the pieces came together. And I’ve seen the film.

The movie sticks fairly closely to the plot and is definitely worth a watch, AFTER you read the book. The book’s pace is fast and you shouldn’t have trouble knocking it over in a few short sessions. It is pretty hard to put down. Haller is a bastard but he’s our bastard and by the end of the book you will be hoping that he manages to pull it all off.

All in all a solid, enjoyable read. I suggest you buy it as a late gift for that one person you forgot and read it before you send it off. Because I’m sneaky like that…

4 stars

Leave a Reply

